Rotary-wing Commercial pursuing fixed-wing add-on

RyansPlace

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Ryan
Hello,

This is my first time posting in these forums. Happy to join the community.

BLUF: Can you abreviate the requirements for a fixed-wing commercial add-on if you already posses a rotary-wing commercial?

Background: I'm an Army aviator with a commercial rotary-wing certificate currently pursuing a fixed wing rating. I have 1,100 hours in Kiowa Warriors and about 90 hours in Cessnas and Cherokees (the war in injuries caused a few interuptions in training). I've fulfill the requirements for a private pilot certificate. Since this is a type rating transition, is it possible to go straight for the Commericial certificate or must I have the 100 hours of PIC time in an airplane to do it? I've seen similar questions in other threads that seem to indicate yes, but not seeing a clear answer. Thoughts?

-Ry

You should be able to go straight to a commercial fixed wing certificate. I do not know the requirements however, because I am not a CFI. I do know however, that if you come up to San Marcos we can fly out to Fredericksburg and I'll buy you a burger.

Welcome to PoA, and thank you for your service.

Hopefully a CFI in the know will chime in here. When I retired it was the simple swap since I had both fixed and rotor experience in the military. At the very least I would expect you will be required to get some complex time logged and maybe a IPC for fixed wing. :dunno: Good Luck and welcome aboard PoA!!!

This is an additional category rating, so 61.63(b) applies:
(b) Additional aircraft category rating. A person who applies to add a category rating to a pilot certificate:
(1) Must complete the training and have the applicable aeronautical experience.