Required Subscriptions

Marauder

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Marauder
Hello All. New to the forum and was looking for some guidance. I'm a long time IFR pilot that has exclusively flown needles since I got my rating. I have made a large investment in the avionics stack to include my first WAAS GPS and a PFD/MFD. This GPS and PFD/MFD subscription has me confused. Can someone with the following equipment tell me what is legally required for IFR? And what sources for these subscriptions offer the best deal?

Garmin GTN 650 (single unit at this point)
Aspen PFD 1000 Pro
Aspen MFD 1000

I currently use an iPad for my charts (backup is an iPhone) -- sure don't miss my Jepp paper subscription! Thanks for any help!

You'll need a subscription for the Garmin at a minimum, since that's your system for IFR navigation.

I don't know how the Aspens interface as far as flight plans go with the Garmin. If you never display the flight plan on the Aspens, you won't need the database to be up to date - what you NEED the Aspens for is the HSI functionality, and that shouldn't be dependent on a database.

But, assuming you want to have the flight plan on the Aspen and not run in to issues where a flight plan waypoint isn't in your expired database on the Aspen, then you'll need a subscription there too. Contact Aspen and find out if you can get one subscription that updates both the PFD/MFD. - you may have to "install" the data into each unit separately, but with any luck it will be for one price, like it is with the G1000.

The advantage of having the databases up-to-date in the Aspens is that in the event your Garmin dies or you have an electrical issue you still have a moving map with an independent GPS in the Aspens, and in an emergency that can be a good thing.

You need to read the manuals on your installation.