Request for Reconsideration for Denial - Guidance

Josh G

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
JG
I'm a student pilot who has been on hold for a while pending this medical process. After progressing to the point of being ready to solo I scheduled a 1st class medical exam in May of last year thinking it would go smoothly seeing that I'm a perfectly healthy, fit, and active 30 year old; a somewhat naive decision.

I was taking lexapro for anxiety/depression from June 2020 until January 2022. It didn't do much for me, and due to an improvement in life circumstances, I felt, along with my prescribing physician, that all those issues had resolved and I didn't need the SSRI any longer. It's worth mentioning that in the year since I've last taken lexapro I haven't experienced anxiety/depression, nor were my symptoms ever serious enough to require hospitalization or any other kind of in-patient care. However due to this past diagnosis my application was deferred.

In the deferral letter the FAA asked for medical records. In the records from my doctor, there is mention of marijuana use. This resulted in a SECOND deferral asking me to explain the nature, duration, frequency, etc. of my marijuana use in addition to a clean drug test. I complied and 2 months later, in December 2022, received my denial on grounds of substance abuse, with the mention that I can submit a "written request for reconsideration," but that I have 30 days (January 11th) to do so. A second letter specifies a list of things I need to accomplish in order to be considered for a Special Issuance Authorization.