Replacing Cylinders on a Continental O-470R: Airboss Cylinders

JoseCuervo

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
JoseCuervo
Looks like there may be somewhere between 1 and 6 cylinders needing to be replaced on my engine. They are currently chrome cylinders of varying age, condition, and compression.

It has been suggested that Airboss cylinders might be a good direction to go.

Any insight on them?

Air Boss cylinders are factory Continental cylinders, if you were wondering. So apply all which you have heard about factory cylinders and make your decision based on that.

I've been using them for a few years now on some overhauls I've done. The kits seem good but we'll really know how good they are in 500-1000 hours. Unfortunately, the engines I've done with them are on low use airplanes so they won't see that many hours in the near future.

Superior's will be steel. Continentals are what used to be ECI and you can get either steel or nickel.

The last cylinders I bought were nickel and they worked great. Superior is shipping me a new engine in the next day or two that has Millenniums on it. My 180 has Millenniums on it, too. They all work well.

Superior's will be steel. Continentals are what used to be ECI and you can get either steel or nickel.
Got a reference for that? no one else seems to know that for sure.

As I've responded to you before, call Continental and ask them. That's what I did.
http://www.continentalsanantonio.com

The OP can also pick up a phone and call Superior in the Dallas area to check on cylinder availability. Their customer service is top notch. I've been swapping emails with them already this morning.
http://www.superiorairparts.com

Last edited:
Air Boss cylinders are factory Continental cylinders, if you were wondering. So apply all which you have heard about factory cylinders and make your decision based on that.