Repairing heat-blistered paint on cowling?

alfadog

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
alfadog
I need to do minor repairs and repaint the fiberglass cowlings of my Arrow.
  • Crazing on the top cowling.
  • Deep scratches on top from letting the wind catch it when I had it off.
  • Heat blistering or paint separation on the lower cowling(s).
I am very familiar with fiberglass as I used to do it for a living many years ago, first building cars for Glassic Motors and then as foreman of a fiberglass shop that did mostly high-end government contract work (Pratt & Whitney, NOAA, NASA, USN, USCG, etc.) That was over 30 years ago but I can still work with the crap when I want to :D

I also used to paint my own cars as part of the restoration process and have painted with Imron, which is what is on the Arrow.

So I am good with the repairs and the paint but not so sure of how to handle the heat damage. Obviously neither was the fellow who last painted it.

Any suggestions?

Oh, work will be signed off by A&P/IA as needed.

Are you sure that all of the original heat shields are still in place? The little offset mountings that were installed by OEM were flimsy at best and many have simply fallen off over the years.

I need to do minor repairs and repaint the fiberglass cowlings of my Arrow.
  • Crazing on the top cowling.
  • Deep scratches on top from letting the wind catch it when I had it off.
  • Heat blistering or paint separation on the lower cowling(s).
I am very familiar with fiberglass as I used to do it for a living many years ago, first building cars for Glassic Motors and then as foreman of a fiberglass shop that did mostly high-end government contract work (Pratt & Whitney, NOAA, NASA, USN, USCG, etc.) That was over 30 years ago but I can still work with the crap when I want to :D

I also used to paint my own cars as part of the restoration process and have painted with Imron, which is what is on the Arrow.