Renewal after a 20 years moratorium

U

Unregistered

Hello, I wonder if I will have any problems with the AME if I try to renew my third class medical certificate, 20 years after its expiration date?
I am a private pilot, used to rent airplanes long time ago, but got married and moved out of the country for sometime and never flew again, now I am planning to fly again and hire an instructor for some refreshment.
Thanks for any help.

As long as you haven't developed any disqualifying conditions in the interim, and you fill out the application fully and accurately, you should not have any problems. However, some of the rules on how to fill out that form have changed, so read the attached instructions including all the fine print very carefully, and if you have any doubts at all on how to fill it out, ask the AME for guidance before you sign it.

As long as you haven't developed any disqualifying conditions in the interim, and you fill out the application fully and accurately, you should not have any problems. However, some of the rules on how to fill out that form have changed, so read the attached instructions including all the fine print very carefully, and if you have any doubts at all on how to fill it out, ask the AME for guidance before you sign it.

If you have any doubts, talk to the AME before you even let them hand you the number 80whatever form.

Any doubts.

Don't cheat yourself out of the sport pilot option.

You need to know before you go.

20 years shouldn't be an issue in itself. Bigger problems are more likely to be whatever medications you may have taken in the intervening time that are on the "bad list". (And no, that list is not available for you to see.)

AOPA has an on line version of the form that you can go through to flag any potential issues. And to make sure that you have all the information you need.