Removal Of Old Avionics To Make Room For Tablet

Sinistar

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Brad
Hi Everyone - I'm a newbie here!

We recently upsized from a Aeronca to a 182 and we now have electrical...and room!!! The current panel has (from top to bottom):

1. B/K KMA 24H Audio Selector
2. Arnav R50 Loran (!!!no longer functional!!!)
3. B/K KX 155 Nav/Comm
4. B/K KX 155 Nav/Comm
5. Narco DME 890
6. B/K KR86 NDB
7. Old Transponder

the idea is to get rid of the Loran(#2) and NDB(#6) and just shift all items down and make room for a tablet. This would then give us a total of about 5.5" of space at the top of the panel with 4.5" from the equipment removal.

We have been using a Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.4" tablet mounted with suction cup to copilot side window and would like to instead mount it at the top of the panel just under the glare shield. One nice thing about the 182 is there is room (just barely) to do this. The tablet would be removed between flights so I'll have to rig up something easier to install/remove. We have tried both Foreflight on a iPad mini and Garmin Flight on Android and prefer the later for the screen size, speed, excellent internal GPS, etc.

I should note, we are VFR only. My wife is the pilot and still misses the tailwheel :) I will be getting my license in the spring so I am currently the muscle and ground support.

Our questions are:

1.) Any idea how much it will cost/labor to remove the two items and simply shift them down?

2.) Can I do the removal and shifting of the panel w/o a certification since there would be no installation?

3.) We're used to having radios higher up in the panel, are we crazy to drop them down more to the middle?

4.) Is there any reason to keep the NDB?

5.) Having that nice sized tablet under the deepest part of the glare shield just seems right. Is there anything we're missing here.

- Brad