Reflections on this side of the IFR ticket

spiderweb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ben
They always said that the IR would make me a more precise pilot. I believe it has. I think, though, that I am a better pilot not solely because of what the rating taught me, but also simply because I have more training time now than I would have if I had stopped after the Private.

I can see how the IR could give pilots new ways to get themselves in trouble. On the one hand, I know I can fly an NDB approach down to minimums, under partial panel. This does indeed give me confidence. There is a difference, though, between what I am able to fly and what I am willing to fly. For safety, I would prefer to have at least 1,000' AGL and 2 miles, a good autopilot, and a nice ILS waiting for me at both my destination and alternate. Margins--I like margins.

Thus, proficiency will be an issue for me as it is for many pilots. I can't, after all, practice PP NPAs when alone, and I wonder if I will be able to get in all of the requirements for currency within a six-month period. My solution will be to fly a few flights with my CFII once every six months--not to get currency, but to remain proficient. Before you complain that I'm selling myself short, let me just say that 1) I LOVE the challenges of IFR training, and he really knows how to fill up the plate, and 2) I enjoy flying with my CFII, and he's a friend. So, why not?

I need to learn more about weather. I've got about 20 of actual, but I really want to know more about how benign weather turns bad, and how to read the signs. Sure, I'd also love to be able to rent aircraft with NEXRAD, RADAR, and a Stormscope, but that's not usually possible.