Recommend EGT/CHT Guage for O-300D

Rob Schaffer

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
CLR2TKF
Looked today at our engine while it was being worked on in the shop. We currently don't have an EGT guage, and it was recommended we consider one or a combination with CHT guage to better monitor our engine and leaning process.

I saw different ones on Aircraft Spruce and Chief Aircraft, but I'm new to all this, and need some assistance in the research. Anyone have good experience with a particular model that is affordable,.. LOL,.. aviation affordable :rolleyes: ,... I think just a standard guage with dial would do, nothing with downloads and fancy LED's is necessary.

Engine is a Continental O-300D, 6 Cylinder

To late now to get installed, but pending what is out there maybe something in the near future oil change or annual in June.

I sure like the EI stuff, but it's not a "cheap" gauge.

I've got an O-300-C and I put in the Westach K31X CGT/EGT single cylinder gauge. It's only a couple of hundred bucks. It's handy, but I tell you what, it's not really needed. Sure, I can lean down a bit farther but how the manual says to do it is pretty damn good: lean to peak RPM for best power then 50RPM lean of peak for best economy. That 50RPM lean of peak puts the EGT at 40-75F lean of peak. (peak on my engine is right around 1,400F)
If I had the money I'd put in a JPI or EI engine monitor w/ fuel flow. But again, it's not really necessary. It's really difficult to hurt an O-300.