Questions regarding SI renewal

U

Unregistered

I have a student medical with a 6yr SI for sleep apnea.

I am coming up on the time I need to start the SI renewal process - this is my first time having to deal with a renewal.

The accompanying letter explaining the process says I have two options:
either take a status report from my treating physician to my AME or send the information to FAA. If I send to FAA I am to allow 60-90 days.

To me, this seems like a no brainer - take the information to the AME and get the SI renewed for another year without delay. Because I am not due for a physical for another year, the letter states I just need the SI renewed.

Now my questions - can it be this simple? Am I missing something? Is there any reason to go to FAA instead of the AME?

Thanks.

I can't speak to taking your info to the FAA, but I'm on the same SI for Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA), and am on my 3rd renewal with my AME. What's worked for me is a letter from my physician that states the diagnosis (Obstructive Sleep Apnea), the treatment (CPAP for me), compliance with said treatment, and "exhibits no signs of daytime sleepiness". There is (or was) a document on the AOPA medical site that detailed the content of this letter.

Unregistered said:

I am coming up on the time I need to start the SI renewal process - this is my first time having to deal with a renewal.

either take a status report from my treating physician to my AME or send the information to FAA. If I send to FAA I am to allow 60-90 days.

To me, this seems like a no brainer - take the information to the AME and get the SI renewed for another year without delay. Because I am not due for a physical for another year, the letter states I just need the SI renewed.

Now my questions - can it be this simple? Am I missing something? Is there any reason to go to FAA instead of the AME?

Thanks.