Question for taildragger drivers

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
I have zero experience in tailwheels but had an interesting takeoff in a 172 this weekend. I'm wondering how tailwheel training would have helped.

I went out to visit family the other day, landed at their local airport and the rwy was covered with hard packed snow. Temps were low teens and the tower said braking action had been reported as fair, winds calm. Landing was no problem, an easy landing and just coast along to slow down. I did test the brakes and I found there was some grip.

Takeoff, however, was different. There was a 7kt wind about 40deg off the left side (about 4kt xwind). Just before I rotated, I could feel the plane weathervane. Because of the lack of traction on the snow, this is the first time I've felt that happen. I had aileron correction in for the slight crosswind, but I didn't have the rudder correction to prevent the tail from starting to swing. Since that was happening just as I was starting to lift, I didn't bother to panic, I just took off.

I guess my question is - is this the type of thing that tailwheel training would prepare someone for? I know the slick runway aggravated the situation, but that's the first time I've taken off from anything other than a clean concrete/ashpalt or dry grass runway.

Yep, one thing TW training most definitely teaches you is use of the rudder.

Taildragger training will wake your feet up, and sleepy feet is exactly why you had this happen. But then, you already knew that when you asked the question.

In any airplane, the ailerons control the bank (and wind correction on such a takeoff) and the rudder points the nose. Trikes tend to make you lazy with pointing the nose because they tend to be "self righting." Taildragger training will make that gentle push with your feet second nature. You won't even think about it. When you see the nose wandering, you'll fix it.