pros and cons of lsa vs private

greenhorn

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
kile
Hi I am a beginner flying enthusiast and I was looking to buy a luscombe 8a and fly it lsa. my question is should I just buy a cessna 150 and get my private license instead? the planes run about the same cost to purchase. I would like to fly as least expensively as i can.

so whats the diffferance between operation cost and maintenance between those two planes if the luscombe was operated under lsa?

or sould I look for a elsa? I would like to use the plane to travel between idaho and california about a half dozen times a year. any suggestions would be appreciated.

Do Are you are OK getting a medical, I'd get the 8a and get your private in it, way more airplane for the money, way more fun to fly, and between a 8a and your ICAO PPL you can do much more with it.

Last edited:
The Luscombe does not preclude you getting a Private certificate, the only real reason to limit your pilot's certificate is that you will have a problem attaining a medical, but you can still have a driver's license. If you don't have a problem getting a medical (the trick is you have to know before you go, so do a CONSULTATION with an AME before you give him your Med Express code. You want to know you will pass, other wise you risk the ability to fly as SP.) then you might as well get the PP.