Project Pilot Mentors Needed!

Jeff Oslick

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Jeff Oslick
Based on messages in another less-read forum that refreshed my memory, I'd like to remind folks of the AOPA Project Pilot Mentor program. By signing up, you can, either by email and/or in person, help fledgling pilots earn their wings.

If you are interested in being a Project Pilot Mentor, but don't know any potential students personally, I recommend signing up on AOPA's Pilot Mentor page:

http://www.aopa.org/project_pilot/find_service4.cfm

You'll need your AOPA member number. You can either be an email-only mentor, or an in-person mentor (or both). I've done a bit of email-mentoring in the past, and just renewed my entry. You need to re-up every 90 days (I've asked AOPA to increase this time a bit).

Jeff

What are the requirements?

As a 30-hours-past-PPL-checkride pilot, I wonder if I have enough experience to be helpful.

Mark-

There are no requirements to be an AOPA Mentor. Actually, I think as a new PP you have a valuable perspective to offer students that folks with more hours don't have anymore.

Jeff

Jeff;

Thank you for the infomation. I did not know about the 90 day re-up.

I feel that pilots who have just gone through the training process would make great mentors to the new people.

John J

It's the 90 day thing that's a problem. I'm so freaking old, I'm lucky I can remember to pee in the morning let alone sign up every 90 days.

OK, I'm in the list now. I searched after signing up, and discovered that I was now one of TWO pilots for NJ!

There are also 2 students pending - I think I'll contact the one closest.

MSmith said:
OK, I'm in the list now. I searched after signing up, and discovered that I was now one of TWO pilots for NJ!

There are also 2 students pending - I think I'll contact the one closest.