Problems wit AeroCruze 100 install (lack thereof)

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by AeroLudite, Jun 4, 2020.

  1. Prefect Six

    Prefect Six Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Messages:
    5

    Display name:
    Prefect Six
    I think they may have been talking to Andrew. Thanks for all the input we will keep on top of it and may be contacting you guys to get help with settings down the road not too long. Avionics shop seemed dedicated to helping us get it right when I talked to them on the phone today.
     
  2. Cherokee Lover

    Cherokee Lover Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    54

    Display name:
    Jimbo
    Can I ask you a question? Is the deviation you are seeing in GPSS during en-route or during an approach?
     
  3. Prefect Six

    Prefect Six Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Messages:
    5

    Display name:
    Prefect Six
    Enroute. Whenever we’ve tried an approach it swings way through the approach course and end up disconnecting pretty quick.
     
  4. George Mohr

    George Mohr Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    New Jersey

    Display name:
    Gmohr
    We recently fine tuned our Aerocruze 100 in our 182. We were having problems holding altitude in gpss turns. The nose would drop then recover but overshoot. It felt somewhat divergent and wasn't a pleasant ride at all.

    We lowered the vertical activity to about 10, and raised the vertical microactivity to 25. It's really behaving nicely in this configuration.

    Don't be afraid to tweak these settings in flight. Have someone fly the plane while you try different settings!
     
  5. ktup-flyer

    ktup-flyer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,334
    Location:
    Tupelo, MS

    Display name:
    ktup-flyer
    I have the revised settings for the 182 and they’re pretty close to perfect. I’ll send them to you tomorrow
     
  6. George Mohr

    George Mohr Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    New Jersey

    Display name:
    Gmohr
    Thank you, would love to compare them to where we wound up!
     
  7. AlphaMike

    AlphaMike Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2019
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Michigan

    Display name:
    AlphaMike
    send them to me too please! I would like to compare what your using to what I ended up with.
     
  8. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    23,952
    Location:
    UQACY, WI

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    That sort of behavior on a brand new autopilot is not at all what I would call "fine".
     
  9. Lynn Dixon

    Lynn Dixon Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN.

    Display name:
    CubedRoot
    I am a Trutrak early adopter and I whole heartedly agree. This is not “fine” behavior. It’s annoying because you have no idea of how much trim is going to be needed when you disengage if you simply just ignore the trim warnings.
    It sucks especially after paying the money to buy and install it only to have it constant complain about trim. Then disengage, and BAM hard nose down.
     
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  10. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    710

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    The Trutrak (AC 100) is designed that way. Any pressure one way of the other and it will tell you to trim after about 8 seconds. Don’t ignore the trim, but don’t chase it either. When I fly, if it says to trim down, I periodically will see how much pressure it takes for the annunciation to go away. Often it is just the slop in the controls, in which case I leave it alone. If it takes a little pressure to go away, hen I trim a little bit and bump the yoke again. In cruise, this is every half an hour or so. In climb or descent, I do it more often. You don’t have to trim any more than you normally would. You can know exactly how much trim it will require when you disengage when you do this, which should be none. If you run the trim until the annunciation goes away, you will almost always have gone way too far. Do I like this design, maybe not, but does it keep me in better trim than another system that only annunciator over a certain pressure, probably so. It is not a problem with the auto pilot. It is a feature.
     
    Robert Gee likes this.
  11. George Mohr

    George Mohr Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    New Jersey

    Display name:
    Gmohr
    Any AP without electric trim authority will have this issue. It's not nearly as bad as some are assuming based on the comments. We're talking about the occasional little adjustment here. I've never been so out of trim that disconnecting caused any unreasonable pitch change. This is in my 182, so a fairly rock stable platform but with more than a little slop in the control system.
     
  12. ktup-flyer

    ktup-flyer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,334
    Location:
    Tupelo, MS

    Display name:
    ktup-flyer
    Document the settings you are currently using, then replace with the “182RG” (yes, even on the fixed gear model) settings. They’re spot on for me.
    CF1258C0-D3AC-4B0D-A36D-8AA0056186D6.jpeg
     
  13. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    710

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    There will be different settings for each specific plane in many cases. Cable tensions, pulley bearings, weight and balance, etc can cause the plane to fly slightly different from one to another.
     
  14. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    8,683
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    I hope someone with a PA28 will do one of these charts before I order mine. I've got an engine monitor and an exhaust to install first, so you guys have time. ;)
     
  15. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    710

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    Just start with the standard PA28 settings. Those usually work great to start with except the lateral activity usually needs to bump up to 20 or 21. Med or Low bank angle is strictly a preference issue. There is a huge range of PA-28's. Saying PA-28 is like saying Cessna 100 series. From the 140 to the 236, there will be substantial differences in the way they handle. Just start standard, find out hot to get into Setup Enable mode, then fly in some smooth air and tweak until you are happy. Climbs, descents, right turns, left turns and GPSS and you'll get it dialed in pretty well.
     
    Timbeck2 likes this.
  16. ktup-flyer

    ktup-flyer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,334
    Location:
    Tupelo, MS

    Display name:
    ktup-flyer
    @simtech put one in his 180, but idk if he still has his settings
     
    Timbeck2 likes this.
  17. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    710

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    I've installed in at least 20-30 PA-28's, and what I mentioned above pretty much covers it.
     
  18. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    8,683
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    Cherokee 140. Most people would laugh and say it was putting a five dollar shine on a two dollar shoe but I don't care.
     
    George Mohr likes this.
  19. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    710

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    Not at all. If you fly it enough to benefit from an auto pilot, then it absolutely makes sense. I would just start with stock settings and expect a little increase in the lateral activity.
     
    Timbeck2 likes this.
  20. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    8,683
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    Thanks again Jesse
     
  21. George Mohr

    George Mohr Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    New Jersey

    Display name:
    Gmohr
    @Jesse Saint thank you for your support of this product. It beats Bendix King for sure.
     
  22. Prefect Six

    Prefect Six Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Messages:
    5

    Display name:
    Prefect Six
    This is helpful, thanks. I have definitely disconnected the AP more than a time or two and had the yoke yank forward/back because it was holding a decent bit of tension.

    We recently found out that the Trutrak had static run to both the pitot and static inputs, unfortunately, there was no change in lateral function. Need to make time to adjust the settings.
     
  23. Daleandee

    Daleandee En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Messages:
    3,522

    Display name:
    Dale Andee
    Doing that should make you feel young like the kids in the neighborhood that are putting five grand stereos in their fifteen hundred dollar beater trucks ...

    It's your plane, your money, and your business! I bought a Trio EZ auto pilot for my little experimental. When folks asks why I tell em, "because I can."
     
  24. Caballosinnombre

    Caballosinnombre Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    Messages:
    3

    Display name:
    Mike
    Aerocruze autopilot


    I now have the BKAC 100 installed and operational in my 1974 Piper Archer. My takeaways from the experience are:

    Make sure you order the form factor that is actually in stock. When I ordered a 3 1/8 unit they didn't explain that the form factors available were 2 1/4 and the flat pack. Once I changed the order to 2 1/4 it showed up in less than 2 weeks.

    The 2 1/4 has the same interface size as the 3 1/8, it just has a smaller surrounding bezel.

    Make sure you have the right stripping and crimping tools for the wire and miniature connectors provided. The wires are 20 guage and smaller with Teflon insulation. You'll need special crimpers and strippers to handle this kind of wire. The Teflon is extremely tough.

    One of the two servos didn't produce enough torque to properly move the controls. It produced around 30 inch-pounds when it should have produced 60 in-lbs. I sent it to Mid Continent in Wichita for adjustment.

    The control head and link sensor were later sent to MC because the pitch servo wouldn't move the controls. There was an inop main board in the control head that had to be replaced.

    There was a continuous Trim Down message on the control head. This was probably my fault because of mistakenly using thread lock on the link sensor so it couldn't react properly to the servo push force.

    If you don't link the AP to at least a simple GPS (G496 etc) you will only be able to set bank angle and altitude, not heading or track.

    Now that the AP is working, it seems to be a capable unit. But the initial issues were problematic. Since I was doing the install under the supervision of an IA, I was able to keep flying the airplane while getting components fixed.

    The repair work was done under warranty by MC.