Pre-solo spin training - video

eetrojan

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
eetrojan
Hey all, I've yet to solo, but I had the opportunity to do some spin training today, flying out of John Wayne (SNA) in SoCal. What a blast!

This video was made with me handholding the GoPro with CFI Bill at the stick, after I did several spins and recoveries, both left and right.

Also, be kind, as this is my first attempt at a GoPro video.

Good flying. Joe

Last edited:
Hmm...gotta give that 1-3/4 spin a cumulative zero. :) Severely forced entry, good stop on heading, but then aileroned it and pulled 40 degrees off heading during the pull to level. :D

But seriously, good for you for getting some basic spin training.

You might want to try getting the head strap thing for the go-pro, i've taken some good videos with it. Looks good though

As for the entry it looked like he kicked the rudder too hard too soon. A decathlon is very easy to put into a spin (and stop a spin), it looked like the plane yawed pretty hard before it stalled. At least from my very limited experience, the decathlon is happy to drop a wing if you are uncoordinated when you stall, so there is no reason to kick it so hard before you get really slow

Last edited: