Pre-departure briefing

asechrest

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
asechrest
Hello. Background: I'm a student pilot, about two flights from checkride.

I was reading the twins thread and saw a post by Dr. Chien wherein he mentions he doesn't sign folks off if they don't "verbalize the pre-departure briefing."

And I realized I don't have a pre-departure briefing. I assume this is referring to verbalizing the altitudes at which you land on remaining runway vs. land straight ahead vs. turn-back if the engine fails.

Could someone outline the basics of a pre-departure briefing, and perhaps recommend some altitudes for a C-172M? If it matters, I fly out of KPIE in FL.

Thanks.

Hello. Background: I'm a student pilot, about two flights from checkride.

I was reading the twins thread and saw a post by Dr. Chien wherein he mentions he doesn't sign folks off if they don't "verbalize the pre-departure briefing."

And I realized I don't have a pre-departure briefing. I assume this is referring to verbalizing the altitudes at which you land on remaining runway vs. land straight ahead vs. turn-back if the engine fails.

Could someone outline the basics of a pre-departure briefing, and perhaps recommend some altitudes for a C-172M? If it matters, I fly out of KPIE in FL.

Thanks.

Keep it simple. Too many GA pilots try to make a complex briefing because someone said "we should do it like the airline pilots". In reality the airline procedures keep it short and simple as well.

I was referring to what happens in a multiengine airplane when on of the engines goes south just as you are coming off the pavement. There is little time to think (you do have to) but you cannot be working it out at that moment.

The predeparture briefing in a piston twin is very simple:

It can be:

If one of the fans goes at Vyse we're going to go and treat it as in inflight emergency.

or

If one of the fans goes at Vyse, we shut down, open the doors and take the trees.

or