Point of origin (Xc logging question)....

T Bone

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
T Bone
When I was a student pilot, I about some opinions that one must depart an airport and land not closer than 50nm distant for the flight to apply for a solo cross country requirement.

Now that I have my PPL, and intend to go forward with training for an IFR ticket, I've wondered if the above still applies? If I depart airport "A" with a destination of airport "C" which is 55nm away, can I land at the intermediate airport "B" between them, and still properly log the flight as XC? (Considering the flight to qualify for some of the cross country requirements of the IFR rating).

T Bone said:
When I was a student pilot, I about some opinions that one must depart an airport and land not closer than 50nm distant for the flight to apply for a solo cross country requirement.
Not exactly -- the rule is that if the flight includes a landing more than 50nm from the original point of departure, the whole flight is XC for the aero experience requirements for Private, Instrument, and Commercial. You can land as many times at as many airports between the OPD and the 50+nm distant field as you like. Don't know if there's anywhere that 11 airports are so aligned, but you could do a countable XC going only 5 miles on each leg (well, at least one pair would have to be 5.1nm apart).

Now that I have my PPL, and intend to go forward with training for an IFR ticket, I've wondered if the above still applies? If I depart airport "A" with a destination of airport "C" which is 55nm away, can I land at the intermediate airport "B" between them, and still properly log the flight as XC? (Considering the flight to qualify for some of the cross country requirements of the IFR rating).
Yes, you can, per the discussion above. As long as you make one landing (T&G is good enough) more than 50 nm from the OPD, it counts for those licenses/ratings.

Ron Levy said: