Please help with FAA medical

Randy

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Skydive101
I don't know what to do anymore. On my initial app for medical I got a letter requesting a bunch of stuff with 60 days to get it.

I called the FAA nearly every business day for help for the entire 60 days and never was even able to leave a message(high call volume prerecorded). The case was finally closed around March.

Randomly got a letter saying I have 30 days to complete it.

I need a psychiatric evaluation and a psychologist eval with core test battery. Here's the issue...

I've called over 40 people and no one can do it. Called the FAA and told them so they gave me a handful of numbers. None of them could preform the required tests either.

I'm a veteran. The VA seems hopeless with this.

I finally found a SINGLE person who can do the psychological exam but it's close to three thousand dollars. That's only one of two parts and I still can't find a psychiatrist to meet their requirements.

This is insane. They assure me this is routine and not hard to do. I've spent an incredible amount of time searching and calling people. I've got 12 days left to have it all submitted.

Please help. This seems insane. Even if I miraculously find one to do it all in time it sounds like I'm looking at close to $5,000.00 for a maybe?!

1st you are going to nned to get an experienced AME like Dr. Bruce and immediately apply for an extension. It sounds like a HIMS - AME type case. Yes u can forget the VA. Yes is it will be expensive. Good luck!

Thanks for the number. Sounds like I'm basically grounded for life. He said it would be at least $6k, and even if I did it (which he said sounds like a waste) I can't get it in time and need to accept I'm going to get denied.

Thanks FAA. That will teach vets to seek help. When will I learn being too honest always ends up screwing me. Probably not on the next one either.