Performance Degradation

Jaybird180

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Jaybird180
How much margin do you add to your take-off, landing and 50 foot obstacle clearance calculations?

A significant margin - I'm a wimp and sloppy pilot. I like 50% more then the book says is possible. Even then, I approach it very carefully.

If the book said I needed 1500 ft to depart, there is simply no way I'd even consider it without a 2250 ft runway. Even then I'm going to be trying to account for the variables the book didn't - surface, etc.

I generally slowly work my way up to whatever I'm trying to determine. The book for the Debonair indicated you could operate it at Gastons at gross no problem this year. I did the first takeoff there solo, with everything removed, and light fuel. I then had a metric to work with and added weight as the weekend went on. Even then I never got anywhere near gross as it wouldn't have been safe. The temperatures were soaring, the winds shifting, etc.

There are so many variables in this equation that any answer is almost meaningless. (Surface condition and material, grade, DA, load, experience on that particular field, yada yada yada. But in reality the question really comes down to: Would you land here?

My wife is fond of saying a good attorney never asks a question they don't know the answer to. I would never land any place I wasn't sure I could get out of. (Barring emergencies of course.) But I would need a specific data set to categorically state the safety factor applied.

Last edited:
There are so many variables in this equation that any answer is almost meaningless. (Surface condition and material, grade, DA, load, experience on that particular field, yada yada yada. But in reality the question really comes down to: Would you land here?