Path to Instrument/Commercial

Erice

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Erice
I am a new private pilot with aspirations to become a part-time CFI. I?d like advice about the path to follow to getting the instrument rating and the commercial license (under part 61). I have easy access to a Cessna 150 (equipped for VFR only), but other IFR-ready airplanes are available at a neighboring airport.

Is it better to train for the instrument rating first, then learn the commercial maneuvers, or vice versa?

I?m thinking that I can learn the commercial maneuvers first, practice them in the 150, all the while building time (to accrue toward the 50 hrs of XC required for the instrument rating under part 61). Then start the instrument training and pass the instrument checkride (in an IFR-equipped airplane of course). Then return to the commercial maneuvers, including 10 hours in a complex airplane, and finally take the commercial checkride.

Are there any pitfalls to this strategy, such as the need to practice the maneuvers in the plane in which I will take the commercial checkride? Do you have to take the commercial checkride in a complex aircraft?

-Eric
________
launch box vaporizer

Last edited:
the common path is to do the instrument first, as it helps build the time towards the 250 needed for commercial. then do the cross countries once you are instrument rated, then manuevers and 10 hours complex with instructor, and all that jazz. If you wanted to combine stuff well, make all your IR training flights cross countries so you get the 50 hrs PIC XC time and the instrument training taken out in the same blow. plus you can file IFR for all the trips and have some really good experience beyond just practicing approaches locally. also buddy up with some others working on IR and get some safety pilot time, towards your 250.