Past Marijuana Use

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

djbouch

Dear Aviation Community,

I am a student pilot and I am having some trouble getting a medical certificate. I am sixteen years old, and I just graduated high school. I am trying to get as much of a head start on my career as possible, and I am hoping that my behavior won't hinder my ability to do this.

In 2007 I used marijuana four times, and once in January 2008. I have always wanted to be a pilot; I took ground school when I was fourteen, and had a few lessons until my money ran out. I stopped flying until a few months ago when I decided that I could now afford to get lessons. When I decided to start flying again I made a commitment to stop my social smoking. January 8th was the last time I smoked and I will never do it again. I feel very guilty about my behavior and I am always ashamed to tell people, not to mention the minor trouble I have had getting my 3rd class medical. The doctor told me that I passed everything but he had to defer my case because I had indicated use of marijuana on my form. I got a letter from the Medical Certification Division of the FAA, and it asked for more information. I replied in May declaring my frequency of use, effective dates of abstinence, that I never purchased the drug, encountered legal problems, or needed medical treatment.

My big concern right now is that I am about two months away from my solo and I read on the web that it takes 4-6 months to process my letter. Do you have any idea if this is the case, or if there is any way to speed up the process? I am hoping that my naiive behavior won't ground me for two years. Is this a possibility? Could my past use of marijuana affect my goal of having a career as a pilot?