Passenger on oxygen

CApilot55

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
CApilot55
Hello all, this is my first post and I see this is a very active forum. I am happy to be here, but I do have a question for you veteren pilots out there. I am a new minted private pilot and would really like to take my dad flying before he is really unable to go anymore. He is on oxygen at home and requires it 24/7. Although he does have a portable oxygen tank that he uses when he is on the go, my question is as long as I stay relatively low, is there any thing wrong with flying with him being on oxygen? And have any of you flown with people on oxygen before? Thank you for your time.

There isn't much difference between aviation and medical oxygen....

Not an issue. And yes, I've flown my mother up to 3000 feet with a portable oxygen tank and cannula. The only issue is securing the tank in case of turbulence. Those won't be much fun to get whacked by. I tied it FIRMLY to the back seat leg.

Your dad may have to adjust the regulator for altitude. Just like if he was driving.

Should be no problem as long as you don't go to high .just remember to secure the bottle ,like to put it under the seat secured to the chair supports.also go on a smooth day.

That is the plan we are going to leave early in the morning for a quick 15 minute flight land have a pancake breakfast then fly back. I will also bring my Spo2 finger monitor.

There are other concerns however -

Is your dad still mobile? I would be concerned in an aircraft that has only one door - if you have only one way out and he is sitting next to that way out - and is not easily mobile there may be challenges to evacuating the aircraft in the event of emergency- that element needs to be evaluated as well -

You need to discuss this with Dad's physician. There may be issues about which none of us here can guess.

You need to discuss this with Dad's physician. There may be issues about which none of us here can guess.