pacemaker

dpk1nba

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
dpk1nba
Will a passenger with a pacemaker be affected at all by low altitude (below 12,000 MSL) non-pressurized flying?

Will a passenger with a pacemaker be affected at all by low altitude (below 12,000 MSL) non-pressurized flying?

Only if you use the microwave in the galley!

More seriously, I wouldn't think so as there are plenty of folks in Denver with pacemakers living without a problem. I am not a doctor, though so this could all be proven incorrect. :dunno:

A definite Maybe:
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~cardio/provider/topics/misc/altitude.html
Arrhythmias/ECG Alterations/Pacemakers --Electrocardiographic abnormalities are common at altitude and include increases in p-wave amplitude and rightward axis shift in the frontal leads, presumably a consequence of altitude-induced pulmonary hypertension and right heart overloading [5]. Additional alterations include shortening of the R-R interval, lengthening of the Q-T interval, and ST-T wave flattening. At least some of these ECG changes can be blunted with beta-blocker administration [15], suggesting a role of catecholamines in their development. Since virtually all ECG abnormalities abate upon descent, they are not thought to be clinically important.
The incidence of arrhythmias at altitude is variable and likely depends upon the patient group under study. The relative freedom from arrhythmias among young healthy individuals was documented in a hypobaric chamber study of 8 healthy men aged 21-31 who were observed during exercise at simulated altitudes up to the equivalent of the summit of Mt. Everest and in whom no arrhythmias, conduction defects, or ST-or T-wave changes to suggest ischemia were seen [16].