Pa28-140/160 or PA28-161?

BoeingBoy

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Boeingboy
I'm new to the GA world and am looking for a trainer for the wife to fly and do weekend family jaunts. Considering a Piper Cherokee 140/160 or a Piper Warrior 161. Our airport is approx 3000ft. I like the extra space in the Warrior but any thoughts would be appreciated.
Cheers

The 160 and 161 have rear baggage doors I believe. Definitely convenient. The extra hp is also nice.

Aren't the PA-28-140/160stc Cherokee and the 161 Warrior the same HP?

Yes. The Cher 140 with 160 STC or the Cher 160 both have the 160 HP. The Warrior PA-20-161, or Warrior II has the same.

For me, there is no question that I would get the Cherokee. Unless there is a need for adult rear seat pax. I like the Hershey bar wing, and the lower cost of the Cher 140. If there's a need for rear seat pax, then the 161 might be worth it, but I would look at the Cher 180 later models for the weight carrying.

Thanks for the reply Cowboy,

In your opinion what are the advantages of the Cherokee over the Warrior? Is it just purchase costs? If both are the same to purchase what are the advantages of one over the other?

I don't know - it's just a personal thing. I think the Cher 140 is a better performer in most respects. I just like flying them. I'm also kinda cheap so the savings is good, or if you spend the same money, you'll get lower engine and prolly better radios for your money.

Personal preference. I don't have anything against the Warrior but I don't think it was a step up from the earlier Cher 160C, or 140 with the hi HP engine.

The Warrior has a 5" longer fuselage compared to the Cherokee. The 5" ends up being more leg room for the back seat pax. The stretch basically made the aircraft usable for adults in the back seat.