PA 28 control yoke

vannav

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
van
Can anyone here give me the total distance the control yoke moves from full forward to full aft ? mm or inch. I am a old license pilot but cost to fly too high for me now. Building a simulator yoke. If memory serves me correct i believe from level flight to full aft and or full forward distance is not the same.
van

It goes forward a lot less than it comes back. No idea of the actual inches though.

Also depends where you've got the trim set. The resting point varies. On the ground it's nearly all the way forward. There was actually a Cherokee in my hangar Friday, if I'd seen this post then I could have measured it for you.

For a reference my Navion, which is probably in the same ballpark the forwarded most position of the yoke puts the center of the handles about 2 1/2" from the panel. Fully rear puts it at 12 1/2" from the pane (10" travel). If I remember later today, I'll measure where it sits at cruise for you.

Also depends where you've got the trim set. The resting point varies. On the ground it's nearly all the way forward. There was actually a Cherokee in my hangar Friday, if I'd seen this post then I could have measured it for you.

For a reference my Navion, which is probably in the same ballpark the forwarded most position of the yoke puts the center of the handles about 2 1/2" from the panel. Fully rear puts it at 12 1/2" from the pane (10" travel). If I remember later today, I'll measure where it sits at cruise for you.

I would be extremely grateful for any information you could supply. I am a retired process engineer and viewing all the simulated yokes on the market it seems they all have it wrong. Very little yoke travel and equal distance forward and aft. Again I am extremely grateful for your kindness.
van