Outdoor Grill Parts WTF?

AdamZ

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Adam Zucker
So I have a Carbroil natural gas grill that I have been using for several years. In fact I cook the cheese steaks for the flybq on it. Every spring I take out the burners, flame tamers and grates and wire brush them and make sure the holes in the burners are clear.

Last year they were looking a lot more worn so I took them out and stored them inside for the winter. They are getting pretty thin and I'd like to replace them this year the rust is eating them away. So I go on line and the flame tamers are like $40-$50 each and the grill takes 3 and the cast iron grilling grate is like $57-$70 each and it takes 2.

WTF? Really I think the grill cost me $400. These parts aren't even from the charbroil site I think some are OEM but others are are after market I think.

What the hell is it with grill parts? Anyone know of anywhere to get them at a reasonable price. Hell this isn't an airplane its a gas grill.

Look in home Depot, Lowes or Menards. They may have something that will work. I've gotten replacement burners from these places.

Last edited:
Simple... no one wants to sell you grill parts. They want to sell you a new GRILL.

Weber. That is the answer.

My spirit 400 just ate the first parts it needed.....in 16 years.

Weber. That is the answer.

My spirit 400 just ate the first parts it needed.....in 16 years.
I just bought a grill recently and looked very closely at the differences between Weber and Brinkman. I agree that the Weber charcoal grills are very well built - but I just wasn't seeing it in the propane models being built today. They weren't built much if at all better than Brinkman and were still plenty flimsy. They also cost twice as much.

It's just for the price of the Weber I expect them to be a tank. Their charcoal one's are but the propane ones I was looking at most certainly weren't.

Kingsford.