On Garmin FliteCharts, What Say You?

skyflyer8

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
skyflyr
I am now flying a T182T with G1000, and I am new to the G1000.

We are currently not subscribing to Garmin FliteCharts, an option available on the G1000. This option displays instrument approach charts on your MFD just as you see them on paper. Is it worth it? Currently I'm thinking my five-dollar books of recycled paper are enough. And if I understand correctly, you would still be required to carry paper charts. So what would make this option worth the investment?

Info, pros, & cons?

My checkout instructor reminded me that when in doubt about anything to do with the G1000, I can always use my "foldable moving map." :D

We are currently not subscribing to Garmin FliteCharts, an option available on the G1000. This option displays instrument approach charts on your MFD just as you see them on paper. Is it worth it?
It is $395.00 for the annual Flite Chart subscription. The books are around $6.00 each. When I am going to need an approach plate, I do pretty intensive flight planning and so far, only in a few instances has the destination airport had more procedures than I cared to print. The $395.00 covers every airport in the US, Hawaii and Alaska but I find that I do not go to a very large majority of them...:D

Currently I'm thinking my five-dollar books of recycled paper are enough.
I am close to agreeing with you.

And if I understand correctly, you would still be required to carry paper charts. So what would make this option worth the investment?
You are misunderstanding this requirement.

Info, pros, & cons?