"off the record"

• Thread starter Franz Von Fliegenhozen
  • Start date
F

Franz Von Fliegenhozen

I suspect that I may have an issue with my liver. I would like to see a doctor, however, I would like to see a doctor in such a way that the DOT and/or FAA could not ever prove that I went to a doctor. Is there anyway I can do this anonomously. Or at least have the diagnosis be off-the-record. I just got my 1st class medical and commercial certificate, and have an interview comming up. Also, I currently drive for a living and I also need to keep my DOT medical, or I m out of a job.

Please help. If I even suspect that going to a doctor will cost me my current job or a future job, my stubborn German heritage will prevent me from going to a doctor at all and i will most likely die sooner than otherwise.

Go see a doctor in another country and pay cash?

I like the Disney reference.

Do not trust anyone in the medical profession who says they want to 'help' you. Find a private MD, don't give your name, pay in cash, take the test needed and remain John Doe to everyone. A single slip will give you away. It's going to be hard to find an MD that will agree to this, but it can be done. It's not cheap, and you can't use your insurance.

Can you do some research into what kind of liver issues there might be, and how the DOT and FAA view it? If it's a matter of jumping through some hoops and keeping a job while staying healthy, that's a good outcome. Risking your health is not a good outcome.

Going to a doctor will not cost you your job unless you have a disqualifying condition for which special issuance isn't possible. If you do have such a condition, you need to be out of the cockpit until it's fixed, especially if you're in a flying job which requires a First Class medical. If you don't, there is nothing to worry about. Either way, just go see a doctor, tell the truth, and live up to the standards expected of an ATP.