Not Garmin? Not legal.

It's not in the FAA's job description to make press releases announcing that someone else has misinterpreted what the FAA said in their regs and AC's.

...the "who can pee farther" game.

I guess I'm going to have to actually read the AC and draw my own quasi-legal conclusions.

I remember once, when I was a baby lawyer, asking my boss/mentor, "Can they do that?" He asked me, "Well, what does the law say?"

****ed me off, but he was right- go to the source.

What ever became of this....

http://www.pilotsofamerica.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-2939.html

?

Just spoke with the folks at AFS-410 -- the people who write the rules on GPS use. According to them, the ONLY things affected are RNAV SID's and RNAV STAR's -- and there ain't many of them. Substitution of GPS for ADF/DME is NOT affected, and use of approach-certified units for approaches is NOT affected. He said AOPA is blowing this all out of proportion, and reading into the AC stuff that isn't there. Also, there is no change to the GPS substitution table (Table 1-1-6) in the AIM.

IOW, keep doing business like you always have.

Thanks for looking into that for us Ron.
Is AFS-410 going to be putting that in writing. I have read the AC and am more confused than I was to begin with.

Thanks again

Mark B

It's not in the FAA's job description to make press releases announcing that someone else has misinterpreted what the FAA said in their regs and AC's.
No, but isn't it in their job description to write clear regs and ACs in the first place? As both AOPA and Mark have demonstrated, if their intent is as they presented it to you, they have failed in this instance. Therefore, they should make it clear, either through a press release or clarifying the AC. Well, that's my (frequently misguided) opinion, anyways! :yes::goofy:

And I'll add my thanks to those of the others for getting at least a verbal clarification!