not-flight-following etiquette

Sounds like the effect on controller pay can be a factor, but not a large one.

At a recent presentation locally, Norcal Approach controllers focused on how non-participation can make it difficult to deconflict GA and airliners in the Bay Area.

For additional situational awareness, I sometimes monitor the various approach frequencies along my route of flight, without being on flight following. Occasionally, I will hear the controller advise another pilot of VFR traffic, and that traffic is me.

A question for the controllers: at this point, what is the best course of action?

Get flight following. As a fellow pilot, I'm begging you.

Because it interrupts my music.

Put you headset on mix...

So, assuming I'm being a good VFR pilot, on an airway, at an appropriate altitude, am I reducing controller workload by not being on FF, or am I increasing controller workload by being an unidentified flib that you can't talk to?

According to every approach representative I talk to, you're making their job harder. Workload as a factor of number of planes on frequency is only one factor in difficulty.

Controller pay is based on facility level and time there. Traffic volume is only part of the equation in determining facility level.

Facility level is based on a combination of operations and passengers per operation. If you don't talk, you aren't an operation, and that reduces facility level. This is especially true in smaller areas where they don't get a ton of heavy air carrier traffic.

Sounds like the effect on controller pay can be a factor, but not a large one.

At a recent presentation locally, Norcal Approach controllers focused on how non-participation can make it difficult to deconflict GA and airliners in the Bay Area.