Non-CFI flying jobs; where to look?

LFroese

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
LFroese
I'm a low-hour pilot pretty much straight out of flight school (ATP-Denver, CO). I completed everything short of getting CFI certs. because 1) I don't have the desire to teach, 2) because I was fed up with ATP and their process of training pilots, and 3) my wife became ill after a trip to Thailand.

I've searched for non-CFI work but with the hours that I have it's basically impossible to do that. I'm the first in my family to enter the aviation world so any connections are basically non-existent.

I'm open to getting my CFI (actually have started some training) but am looking for advice/opportunities for someone in my situation.

Not yet in evidence is what ratings/experience you do have. Quality of responses will depend on that.

I know of two guys who took jobs on the ramp team at the local FBO and used that to earn income while they networked the contacts they made with the corporate pilots and the turbine/jet customers that stopped by. Both got good corporate flying jobs eventually. One for a doctors group, another for a petro-chemical concern.

So you might look into paying your dues on the ramp while looking for that first ladder rung.

I'm guessing you're sitting around 250 hours..?? You will need a big break to get a decent job with low time. You can possibly build some time flying skydivers if there's a dz around you.

Do NOT work the ramp or a dock, it's just sad and will not help you, can't log bag chucking time.

Look into drop zones, most want 500tt, but some will entertain a fresh CPL, glider towing, banner towing, of course those two may want tailwheel time which is the polar opposite from what ATP is all about.

You could also travel to Namibia and Botswanna and fly charter in 206, 210, GA8s, this would be ideal on your resume, but you'd have to get the job in person.