No plans ... no purchase

Daleandee

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Dale Andee
Earlier this week I was asked by a friend to order a couple of parts for his experimental airplane. He's an older pilot that bought his plane instead of building it and isn't real comfortable using the internet. The parts involved were parts of the door latching hardware.

The order was confirmed over the internet but two days later I received an email from the manufacturer advising me that I could not order the parts as I wasn't listed as a builder one of their planes.

I built and fly a Sonex and they too require that anyone purchasing parts have a set of plans and/or a serial number for one of their planes in order to buy parts. In fact, Sonex requires new owners to pay a "transfer fee" in order to be able to order parts for planes that were purchased and not built by them. I know I've purchased parts from Van's Aircraft and wasn't asked to prove I was a builder of one of their planes.

Not really a big deal as a workaround has been found. Not sure I understand the reasoning behind it ...

Not really a big deal as a workaround has been found. Not sure I understand the reasoning behind it ...
For big stuff like engines and props, they will have agreements in place with the manufacturers that prohibit them from selling to non builders/owners. For other stuff it can be that or they just don't want to become general purpose sellers of supplies, material, and hardware to everyone - especially in situations where they might have something at a lower cost than someplace like Aircraft Spruce. If they buy a lot from places like Spruce, they probably have an agreement with them as well not to sell to the general public.

Concern that someone might be building a "bootleg" Belchfire 3000 instead of buying the kit/plans????
If a kit is mostly flat stock / tube it wouldn't be hard to clone. If it's plans built, well, plans get sold.
What were you trying to buy parts for?