Newbie from Penn State

CityKnight

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
CityKnight
Hello,

Im not sure if this is the right forum to post in, so if it isn't, Im sorry.
I was a student at Penn State (main campus) last year, studying Aerospace Engineering, and there I discovered the PSU Soaring Club. That's where it all started for me, and I fell in love with Soaring. Im a professional martial artist really; I'm a Black Belt, I've been a Taekwondo National Champion (fought at U.S. Team-Trials in 2008), a 2x Collegiate Champion, and currently am an MMA Fighter (movin' up in the world, haha). I also had a very good coach however, who believed in me; 2x U.S. Olympic Team member: Bobby Leach. However, the truth is, Im about satisfied with my accomplishments in the martial arts; MMA is more about the hype ('cus in reality, nobody really cares about Taekwondo nowadays), but when I discovered gliders at PSU, I fell in love ... It's officially become my new passion, and I really want to move forward and devote my life to it (and flying in general) as I have with the martial arts. I don't have too many hours in flight however; but so far I have experience winch-launching (release at 1800ft / max. alt. 3000ft), I've learned to use ridge-lift, I can initiate banked turns, I've flown within the pattern & landed, and Im able to use the horizon for airspeed (against a 20mph head-wind) ...

The downside ... Im no longer in school, and Im poor; is there anyway I can continue to fly somewhere; perhaps gain an apprenticeship with someone who owns planes, learning aviation mechanics, maybe helping 'em assemble their glider on the weekends, anything at all???
Im really trying to find a way to continue flying, and making progress as affordably as possible; but unfortunately I don't know anyone who "owns" a plane, that I could ask.

Im from Philly, and my instructor at school was Steve McGlaughlin (if anyones familiar) ... He was a Cross-Country Champion as far as I know.