Name error on medical certificate

U

Unregistered

I'm a student pilot working on my private pilot certificate SEL.

When using medxpress to fill out 8500-8, I must have made an error because the name on my class 3 certificate has the text "N/A" for middle name. I do not have a middle name ;)

I will soon be preparing for a checkride and I must correct the name error (remove the "N/A" from the middle name). How would I go about doing this and any idea on how long this might take? (I assume there is no way of going through the IACRA process until thIs is fixed?).

thanks for any help

Hmmm... I found the following FAQ on IACRA. maybe not the exact situation as mine, but close enogh.

Question: The data on my medical certificate does not match what is in the FAA Airman Registry database, what should I do?

Answer: If it is less than 60 days since the date of issue of your certificate, contact your AME (Aeromedical Examiner) for resolution of this issue. If it is 60 days or more since the date of issue of your certificate, contact the FAA Aerospace Medical Certification Division for resolution of this issue. The contact info is below. Aerospace Medical Certification Division, AAM-300 Federal Aviation Administration Civil Aerospace Medical Institute P.O. Box 25082 Oklahoma City, OK 73125 (405) 954-4821

So I assume I'd have to call Oklahoma City (405) 954-4821 to get the name fixed on the medical certificate . . . (it's been more than 60 days since i've had the medical certificaate)

anyone know how long it might take until i will have a medical certificate with the corrected name?

If it is more than 60 days, send a certified letter with a copy of your birth certificate to AAM 331, PO Box 26200, Oklahoma City, OK 73125 and request a reissuance.

Or you can do as I am doing, I'm reissuing a guardsman on a Friday evening to get it right.