NAAA]Help with Cooking (Prime Rib)[NAAA]

Let'sgoflying!

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Taylor
NAAA= not at all aviation

I have been charged with baking $50 of prime rib for a big party 6pm tomorrow and I have never done it before!
Any suggestions appreciated.

It is two four-pounders, they don't have an excess of fat on them.
I have a meat thermometer, was planning on using the electric kitchen oven and a large metal pan with foil covering.

I am thinking of putting carrots and onions around the meat for the last hour or so.

I probably will shy away from seasonings other than pepper, maybe some salt.

How long to cook?
The meat thermometer says 140F is rare; that's what I want. No one wants it killed (my usual style of cooking).

Shall I cover it for the entire duration except maybe the last 30 mins? A light crust is welcomed.

Is basting part of this?

The success of this party is in your hands.

I've had good results by keeping it simple.

There are two schools of thought, roast it slow then add high heat for a few minutes to give it a crust, or add high heat for a few minutes,then turn it down and then roast it slow.

My normal routine, and by normal I mean once or twice a year, is olive oil, kosher salt, black pepper and garlic. Set it on a rack in a shallow pan, and hit it with 450 for about 10 minutes, then turn down to 250 for about 20 min/lb. I've tried the method of roasting it slow, then hitting with the high heat but I always end up with a kitchen full of smoke as the pan juices and fat start to burn off.

Basting a prime rib isn't necessary, it already has enough fat in it to keep itself moist.

Leave it uncovered in the oven, it's the best way to get some brown on it. Internal temps for prime rib are normally around 120 (rare), 130 (med-rare), 135 (med) - I'll have to verify by looking at my recipe. Once it hits that temp, pull it out, cover and let it rest about 10-15 minutes.