My Question for YOU!

Mtns2Skies

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Mtns2Skies
I'm only a thirteen year old student pilot with about 6 hours of flight time. I was wondering what is your favorite memory of flying whether it is a stunt or a cross country flight or your first flight. Please vividly describe it. My favorite so far was my third flight. There was a ceiling of 3,000 feet with building cumulus clouds. We flew at 2,500 feet I thought it was incredible being so close to the clouds granted I was flying VFR in a Cessna 152 so I couldn't go into them but it was still very cool.

Most Memorable? Another Question for YOU

I'm a thirteen year old student pilot with about 6 hours of flight experience. I was wondering what makes flying worth it? and what is your most memorable experience in flight?

Re: Most Memorable? Another Question for YOU

There are a lot of things that make flying worth it. For each person it's different, so I'll list a few of them:

- Expanding my knowledge and skills (how many people can fly?)
- Getting up in the sky and knowing I'm up here, and they're down there (they = whoever is bothering me) and they can't get to me
- Being able to make trips in an afternoon that would take multiple days by car
- Special flights, like flying an Aztec from Maine back to IPT on a perfectly clear night or flying a Navajo on a snowy day and watching the props blow the powder off the runway and taxiways, then bust through the layer of icy clouds to the beautiful day above... nevermind all the other amazing trips I've had in less than my first year of flying

Flying is a wonderful experience. There are some people who aren't aviators, they're just people who (as far as I'm concerned) pretend to like planes because it gets them from point A to point B faster. Those people bother me, because all they talk about are the downsides. One such person about talked me out of flying entirely. Don't listen to them, find your own reason(s) for why it's worth it.