My PPL checkride experience - Long Debrief

WannFly

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Priyo
I will make this a multi post long debrief for other students out there who are sweating their **** off like I was and hopefully it will easy you a little or not, it didn't for me.

please note, I am a freshly minted pilot, and I am just sharing my experience, take it with a grain of salt. check and verify with your CFI.

Get your paperwork in order, your CFI should help you with this, if not ensure IACRA is done, keep a paper copy, all your endorsements are in order (if its close to 90 days since your solo endorsement, get another one), if you are taking the ride in your plane , be prepared to carry all log books for mx records and any relevant AD paperwork and know your (or the rental) airplane in and out. during my ride my DPE told me that there are lot of people who don't always knows what certain instrument in their plane does. you are not doing yourself any good there.

I called my DPE and gave him 3 days I could fly, he was available for the first one and I snatched it. he gave me a XC to plan, gave his weight etc. I clarified if he would be carrying any bags etc. he also asked me if I was going to use a EFB to plan the flight, I told him yah and he said good, plan with real-time weather. I clarified if he would like me to do a nav log by hand, he asked me .... next weekend if you go to Duluth with your buddy, would you do nav log by hand? if not, don't do it, I know u can (my DPE is also the chief flight instructor of my flight school and all instructors are required to teach how to do nav log by hand, I had to do it 3 times for 2 xc and once for the mock check ride). so yah, I know how to do it, but in real world, I wont be doing it by hand. your mileage may vary, check with your DPE. I also clarified if its ok to do W&B in my app, he said do whatever u will do in real world.