MSG to Grant P

poadeleted7

Pre-Flight
Grant,
I tried to respond to you over in the medical thread but it was closed so I will try here. My apoligies if this is not the correct place. First, my opening post was meant to be tonge in cheek but I guess that got past a few people. Second, I was actually in agreement with Dr Bruce Chein (SP?) before he started verbally abusing me. I would sugest to the OP that he get the "Expert" advise more from the legal side than the medical side at this point.
I know what I am about to say will put me at odds with Bruce and his fan club , but I firmly believe that people who have physical (And even mental) challenges that do not impose a safety of flight issue should be allowed to fly airplanes. Back in the 80s when I was a full time instructor I had two physically limited students. Both of these people (one refered the other to me) were told by AOPA to give up flying and find another hobby. Well, through some hard work by an AME that I knew at the time both of these people sucsesfully obtained third class medicals and completed PPL training. One of them still owns and operates a Bonanza to this day.
4 years ago I attended the retirement party of a captain budy who had limited use of one of his hands since childhood. When the guy was a teenager he was told by an AME (Probably someone similar to Bruce's mentality) to give up flying and find something else to do with his life. The guy retired off of the 737 with nearly 26000 hours and somehow (Sarcasm here) never put a scratch on an airplane. I flew the line with him on several ocasions (Including a recurrent) and he was always a capable individual.