Micro-controllers

Mtns2Skies

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Mtns2Skies
As a mechanical engineering student, my school requires us to take a mechatronics class. Prior to this class I have used Arduino's, PSoC's, and Raspberry Pi's in both industry and in other class projects. This particular professor I have reason to believe is stuck in the 90's and is wildly out of touch with industry. That being said, he requires us to use PIC controllers and PicBasicPro as a programming language for it.

Am I wrong? Are there any advantages at all to a PIC over the aforementioned micro-controllers?

Last edited:
I thought you meant the people at uncontrolled airports that act like they are controllers

The 90s. That's when he went from the real world into college. He is there for a reason.

I learned programming in Fortran when the world used C++. It's college, not real life.

Besides the fact that there are 10s of billions of PIC microcontrollers in use globally, and they're still selling a billion a year or so?

Arduinos and Pis are great if you want to build a one-off automatic cat feeder + webcam as a DIY hobbyist. If you want to mass-market a home appliance, you're probably going to use something like a PIC.

This particular professor I have reason to believe is stuck in the 90's and is wildly out of touch with industry. That being said, he requires us to use PIC controllers and PicBasicPro as a programming language for it.

Am I wrong? Are there any advantages at all to a PIC over the aforementioned micro-controllers?

The advantage is, the professor doesn't have to write any new course material or learn anything new. You have to do all the work.