Medical Deferral Delay

Funkeruski

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Funkeruski
I went in for a medical certificate exam on July 25, 2011 and was deferred. I understand the FAA is slow in getting around to paperwork, but is there anything I could do to speed things up?

I have read about calling in three times on non-consecutive days, but will that actually help my situation given that I'm only a little over 30 days out? Also, would it help if I got my AME to call the FAA? Any tips/suggestions appreciated.

I'm a student pilot and obviously cannot solo without this. This glass ceiling is killing my motivation.:mad2:

Last edited:
I went in for a medical certificate exam on July 25, 2011 and was deferred due to medication which I had been taking recently, but had stopped a few weeks before my medical. I understand the FAA is slow in getting around to paperwork, but is there anything I could do to speed things up?

I have read about calling in three times on non-consecutive days, but will that actually help my situation given that I'm only a little over 30 days out? Also, would it help if I got my AME to call the FAA? Any tips/suggestions appreciated.

I'm a student pilot and obviously cannot solo without this. This glass ceiling is killing my motivation.:mad2:

I also wish there was an answer to this. Through research, I already knew that my application was going to be deferred, so I refused to start any training programs other than my own self study or spend any further money while the FAA takes their sweet time. I wish that their online system would show a status of those applications or at a minimum what the expected review time is. :mad2:

I went in for a medical certificate exam on July 25, 2011 and was deferred due to medication which I had been taking recently, but had stopped a few weeks before my medical. I understand the FAA is slow in getting around to paperwork, but is there anything I could do to speed things up?