Maintaining an Airplane

marcoseddi

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
marc
So I am new to this, and was curious if I bought a plane like a 152, and flew it about 8-12 hours a month. I know there has to be some sort of maintenance done to the aircraft. A. I know nothing about this, what type of maintenance does it need? and How do I go about getting it done, asking the local FBO to check it every so often or have a scheduled mechanic every so often or some things I can do myself.. Any help appreciated, Thanks:D

The service manual for the aircraft will detail regular maintenance items. They're pretty straightforward if you already take care of your own car/truck. FARs limit what a certified aircraft owner can do, anyway, without a qualified A&P mechanic's supervision and signature.

Best plan: Find your mechanic you trust before you go hunting for an aircraft. You're going to need someone you trust to do a pre-purchase inspection anyway.

Talk with said mechanic about things to expect as a new owner. Also meet and talk to other owners. If you get along, pooling resources may allow you to own/operate a nicer aircraft relatively inexpensively. That is if you aren't the type that needs the aircraft all to yourself.

Renting vs owning typically breaks even and/or becomes a hassle around 100 hours a year. That doesn't sound like a lot until you realize there's 52 weeks in a year. Will you be flying at least two hours every week in a year? The aircraft engine and some other items would probably be better served flying more often than that. Hangar can help with that, but many folks keep 150/152s outdoors.

Etc etc etc. A lot of things to learn, but nothing hard. Just need to start making a notebook, computer folder, whatever with info and start asking lots of questions.