Magnus effect

Walboy

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Walboy

Last edited:
I'm studying material for the CFI test(s) and have a question regarding the Magnus effect on pages 3-5 through 3-7 in the PHAK (FAA-H-8083-25A).

The concept is introduced to illustrate how viscosity and friction affects the flow of a fluid around a rotating cylinder. I get it. The surface friction and viscosity of the fluid cause a lower pressure due higher velocity over the top of the rotating cylinder as the molecules are pulled in the direction of rotation. At one point in the discussion the rotating cylinder becomes a proxy for an airfoil without any explanation.

Just exactly how is a rotating cylinder analogous to an airfoil on a fixed non-rotating wing aircraft?

I have a pretty decent understanding of Bernoulli's principle, so no need to go there.

An airfoil has circulation analogous to the Magnus effect.

Now, when you say you have a decent understanding of Bernoulli's principle, what do you mean? You understand the actual equation, or you associate Bernoulli with some sort of shape and/or distance, or a wing looks like half a venturi, or...

I'm studying material for the CFI test(s) and have a question regarding the Magnus effect on pages 3-5 through 3-7 in the PHAK (FAA-H-8083-25A).

The concept is introduced to illustrate how viscosity and friction affects the flow of a fluid around a rotating cylinder. I get it. The surface friction and viscosity of the fluid cause a lower pressure due higher velocity over the top of the rotating cylinder as the molecules are pulled in the direction of rotation. At one point in the discussion the rotating cylinder becomes a proxy for an airfoil without any explanation.

Just exactly how is a rotating cylinder analogous to an airfoil on a fixed non-rotating wing aircraft?

I have a pretty decent understanding of Bernoulli's principle, so no need to go there.