LOP climbs?

dans2992

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Dans2992
So out here in Phoenix, a late afternoon departure means trying to climb while the OAT is about 113-115.

By reducing MP, and slowing the climb quite a bit, I am able to keep CHTs in check. However, the oil temp is hot (ie 230-235).

Would climbing LOP result in better temps? I realize it would slow the climb, but I'm already slowing it quite a bit anyhow to keep temps in check.

Try "stair step" climbing. Climb until oil hits 220 then level off 10-15 mins for cooling, repeat.

235f on oil is acceptable considering the OATs. Guard your CHTs like a hawk.

I will give that a try. Oil temp seems to take a LONG time to come down, even level, especially down low.

With the terrain profiles around here, leveling for 10-15 mins would mean circling.... ;)

Im not a mechanic, but from personal experience, when it is a hot day I climb with the mixture rich and leaning in the climb is only done when I can do so and keep my temps under 400. Sure it reduces my power output a bit and burns a little extra fuel, but I feel that keeping the temps under 400 is important.

I've never worked for a company that did much, if any, LOP ops.

I'm ok with LOP for some stuff, but for a climb, heck no.

The issue with LOP climbs in the summer is you'll need to be really lean to keep the temps low enough, by which point you have no climb rate. Unless you have insanely excellent cooling, you likely won't see a benefit.

I would honestly not worry about that oil temperature a bit on your airplane/engine, especially if it's only for climb.

Top off with oil. For the initial climb, having more cool oil slows down the heating.

Does enrichening actually result in lower oil temps? If so, its a trade I would make. Save the LOP heroics for cruise. Once Im in cruise, I just lean as much as I can, until it runs rough once Im high enough not to be more than 65% power.