Looking for the perfect GA airplane.

Mafoo

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Mafoo
Hello all.

So I am new here (and to GA). I am just starting out getting my PPL. I am in the process of looking for the perfect plane for my needs, and I have found a few that seem to do what I want, but being I know so little, I thought I would ask the experts :)

Here is what's on my wish list:

• around $65,000
  • Cruise at least 175kts
  • GPH under 10 @ cruise speeds. (proportional to 175kts, so 260kts could be 15gph)
  • 2 place with room for some luggage
  • Range over 600nm.

Right now a plane that fits these needs the closest (that I have found), seems to be a Glasair I (or II if I can find one in that price range).

What else should I be looking at, that meets these requirements?

Also, if the Glasair is the answer, is there anything negative about that aircraft I should know about?

Thanks in advance! :)

I don't see any production certified plane fitting your needs, but I think you may find some E-AB's out there. Problem is that fuel flow versus payload/range balance. You can find a number of 2-seat E-AB's which will go that fast on 10 gph, but finding them with enough room for "some luggage" and a price under $65K will be interesting. I suspect you'll have to accept a fuel burn more like 12 gph or give up cabin volume to get what you otherwise want.

Good luck.

Initially reading your requirements I thought, well the only thing that will get him those numbers is a Glasair. As I see, you actually listed it as a candidate.

As a Glasair I FT owner I can tell you you'd be hard pressed to beat a Glasair I for range (750 miles), fuel burn (8 1/2 gal) speed (165 kts) and it just looks cool!