Looking for Ag Pilot School

jssaylor2007

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
jssaylor2007
Hey there, new to the forum. I have been lurking for the past week gathering any info I could find on Ag Flying Schools. I have read the thread on here, but noticed it was dated 07-08 so I figured I would start a new thread and see if I couldnt get some more current information on schools.

I am located on the Texas panhandle, and I have no air experience. My dad owns a ground rig so I do have experience with chemicals. This is something I have wanted to do for a long time, and I am just now deciding to go for it.

These are from an article on airliners.net about aerial application.​

Battleford’s Airspray
www.batairspray.com
North Battleford
Saskatchewan, Canada Flying Tiger Aviation
www.flyingtigersaviation.com
Oak Ridge, La.
Ag Flight, Inc.
wwww.agflight.com
Bainbridge, Ga. University of Minnesota/Crookston
www.umcrookston.com
Crookston, Minn.

In addition I know that Morris Riggin out of Aberdeen,SD offer spray training with a Supercub with spray equipment.​

I was told that in order to become insurable, you should have 1000 or so hours of total time, a fair amount of it tailwheel and ideally lots of time flying low, e.g. pipeline or powerline patrol. In addition of course you need the VFR commercial and the poison applicators paperwork. The aerial applicators are complaining that they can't find pilots dedicated to do this, the steep entry requirements may have something to do with it. It sounds like you already have some insight into the industry, with your dads connections you may even be able to get your own outfit started.

These are from an article on airliners.net about aerial application.​

Battleford’s Airspray
www.batairspray.com
North Battleford
Saskatchewan, Canada Flying Tiger Aviation
www.flyingtigersaviation.com
Oak Ridge, La.
Ag Flight, Inc.
wwww.agflight.com
Bainbridge, Ga. University of Minnesota/Crookston
www.umcrookston.com