Looking for a CFI in the Detroit area

sbarone99

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
sbarone99
Hello,

I have my own '74 Archer II at KVLL in Troy, MI. Was making progress with previous CFI until he got a job with the FAA and had to move away. Haven't flown in over a year now and need to reboot.

I'm a business owner in the area and really want to build a strong relationship with an experienced CFI that I can be on the same page with. If you're interested, please reach out.

Steve

Steve:

I am a CFII not too far from you. I have an 81 Archer at 1D2 ( Mettetal). I have about 1800 hours as an instructor, about 8300 total. I live in Northville.

My time is pretty limited, but depending on what you need, maybe we could work together. If you are still looking for an instructor feel free to give me a call.

Stephen
248 735 0345

What sort of training are you looking for, Steve (PP, IR, IPC, flight review, transition, recurrent/refresher, etc)? And on what basis (one-time, spread-out, or intensive for a particular certificate/rating)?

Steve,

Since you are a business owner you might find hiring a CFI the same as any employee who needs specific skills in your business.

I ran an ad in the local paper and got about 13 applicants. I interviewed them or at least 3-4 of them before selecting one that I felt was well qualified and had personalty traits that would not interfere with my instruction.

In my case I wanted to fly every single day until I had a ticket the guy I met agreed to schedule 5 days a week. We still managed to fly about 3-4 days a week with the normal stuff that comes up that gets in the way. Between 45-50 days later I took my check ride and was a pilot.

Being self employed I was able to take 1-1.5 hrs a day off and make this a priority until I got my PPL. 15 years earlier I had a few false starts that went no where so I was motivated to see it start to finish this time.

Hello,