Logging PIC in a Complex Airplane

Erice

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Erice
I took my first flight (dual) in a 172RG today. In the flight school office, when we were filling out the logbooks, the CFI told me I couldn't log our flight as PIC today, since I was not yet signed off for the complex endorsement as per FAR 91.31(e). It didn't seem right to me, and when I questioned it, the 2 or 3 other CFIs agreed that it was not loggable until I have the endorsement.

But in doing some research, I think that I can log it. I am a private pilot, rated in the proper category and class (airplane, single-engine land). It probably goes to the difference between ACTING as PIC and LOGGING PIC, in much the same way that a safety pilot can act as PIC while the under-the-hood pilot can log PIC as sole manipulator of the controls. If I were yet a student pilot (pre-private), then I wouldn't be rated, and hence couldn't log it.

So, who was right?
________
Ducati Multistrada 1000s DS

Last edited:
Your CFI is an idiot and should turn in his certificates, along with his moron buddies.

See the flowchart in the link of my sigline. Print it out, roll it up and beat your CFI with it. Then tell him he is fired.

Find a new CFI.

Your CFI is an idiot and should turn in his certificates, along with his moron buddies.

See the flowchart in the link of my sigline. Print it out, roll it up and beat your CFI with it. Then tell him he is fired.

Find a new CFI.

And this is not harsh at all. CFIs are supposed to have the answers, and if they don't know them, they should look them up, not half ass an answer.

Your CFI is a moron. Ask him about slipping with flaps in a 172. If he says the predictible answer, get the hell away, he's going to kill you some day.

And this is not harsh at all. CFIs are supposed to have the answers, and if they don't know them, they should look them up, not half ass an answer.