Lobbying for SI reform

AlphaWhiskey

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
AlphaWhiskey
10 weeks after the FAA confirmed receipt of all of my paperwork for my two year SI renewal for taking an SSRI that I've been stable on for a decade, still no response. My AME, who has done this for years and been very successful at SIs, admits he is feeling "helpless".
As a physician myself, I am utterly disgusted with how I have been treated throughout this process. I call OK and they say call DC. If the DC guy isn't there, I can't leave a message. When I do reach him, he says it is "in review". The appointments and testing cost thousands of dollars a year.
I'm hoping 3rd class medical reform helps, but I'm posting to ask whether anyone can suggest an individual who is lobbying on our behalf for SI reform that we can get behind and add our voices, maybe someone at AOPA or EAA?
Thanks in advance, and sorry for the rant.

Are you familiar with Dr. Bruce Chien? www.aeromedicaldoc.com. He's a senior AME as well as a CFII, and was part of the team that WROTE the current SSRI rules. Prior to his input any history of SSRI use was completely disqualifying. If there is any way to speed your process or fix what may have been screwed up to this point, Doc Bruce can do it. I strongly recommend contacting him at his web site, or he also maintains a confidential help form on the AOPA Web Site if you are a member.

I'm not sure, based on reading his latest info on the web site, if he can do anything to speed this up, but it might be worth a try.

Last edited:
Another vote for the aeromed branch being one of the worst in govt. Unresponsive, capricious, ever-expanding, and ineffective.

My few interactions have been 100% bad. The civvie pros who work with them regularly have zero respect for the group.