Lightspeed Zulu PFX LEMO question

tuwood

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
tuwood
I'm a brand new student (4.7 hours) and just picked up my new LEMO Lightspeed Zulu PFX on Friday before my training flight.
I read through the manual before I got there because I knew I was getting it, but when I jumped in the plane and plugged it in the ears instantly came alive. I clicked on the power button and it didn't seem to change anything. I tried holding the action button to activate the acoustic ear mapping, and I never got the ear tones. After dorking with it for a minute or so I just gave up because they were working fine and I could hear fine. Flight was uneventful, but I suspect I was just running with the basic noise canceling mode versus the advanced.
I figured I'd play with them this week to see what I was doing wrong, and now realize that it's a little hard to power them up without a LEMO plug (duh). I tried plugging in the USB and it did make the green power light blink and the action indicators stayed solid red. I checked the firmware update and it saw it fine, so I know it was talking but I'm guessing the USB only puts it in a limited functionality state for firmware upgrades versus booting it all the way up.

I'd like to go through the setup and settings with flightlink on my iPad prior to getting into the cockpit so I was thinking about ordering one of these:
http://www.pilot-usa.com/adapters/ga-adapters/pa-89b.html

So I guess my question is, will the headset power up fully outside of the plane with the adapter so I can set it up and learn the features?

btw, I am learning in a Cirrus and plan to purchase one, so that's why I got the LEMO. I may occasionally fly in other GA planes so I figured I'd need to get the LEMO to GA plugs adapter at some point anyway.