Lightspeed Zulu 2

GauzeGuy

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
GauzeGuy
Since I've been using this headset for several months now, thought I'd do a quick PIREP in case anyone was debating about shelling out $900 for a set of these.

First, even though they're pricey, I love 'em. Very comfortable, I can easily wear them for hours. I often times use them as headphones when listening to music at oh-dark-thirty.

The noise reduction is great! Its nice to be able to clearly hear comms no matter how loud things get. The cheap headset I started with, not so much.

Other cool aspects are the line in for a mp3 player, and bluetooth capability.

Also flying commercial, this headset has saved my sanity during quite a few flights this year. A couple months ago, I had the misfortune of sitting right in front of a group of (obnoxious) young ladies enroute to Las Vegas, who obviously started the celebrating early. Also, I just flew back from MSP this evening, I was surrounded by crying infants. Didn't hear a thing in either case! :D

The only downsides (aside from cost) are that sometimes the noise reduction can be a little too good. When listening to music on a commercial flight, there has been more than one occasion when I've been tapped on the shoulder because I missed the "turn off your electronics" speech during the descent. Also, the noise reduction almost completely goes away when the batteries are shot. I learned that the hard way when doing some pattern work a while back. Keep some extra AA batteries on hand.

I concur with everything posted. If you have music playing loud enough it totally washes out the engine noise in a plane.

I've had a Zulu for close to 2 years, and decided to take up Lightspeed on the trade-up program for the old POS Bose X headset (so broken it's about worthless - so their trade-in value is a good deal for me) for a Zulu 2. Anyone who's had had one vs. the other to compare?